Home / News From Nigeria / Breaking News / PDP senators in anger, stage walkout as Saraki confirms Amaechi 

PDP senators in anger, stage walkout as Saraki confirms Amaechi 

The Senate on Thursday confirmed the nomination of a former governor of Rivers State, Chibuike Amaechi, as minister, amidst protest by senators of the Peoples Democratic Party. It also confirmed the nomination of 17 others. They are Adebayo Shittu, Kadjiat Abba Ibrahim, Heineken Lokpobiri, Claidius Omoyele Daramola, Baba Shehuri Mustapha, James Ocholi, Isaac Folorunsho Adewole, Bawa Bwari, Geoffrey Onyeama and Zainab Ahmed.  Others are Masur Mohammed Danladi, Usani Uguru, Okechukwu Elemanah, Anthony Anwuka, Mohammed Musa Bello, Adamu Adamu and Aisha Abubakar. The confirmation was done by senators of the All Progressives Congress alone as their PDP counterparts staged a walkout in protest.  The senate had earlier dissolved into a closed-door session to discuss the issue of confirmation of the ministers.

Send Money To Nigeria Free

About Lolade


Check Also


We’ve Plans For Port Harcourt-Maiduguri Railway, Says Amaechi

MINISTER of Transportation , Rotimi Amaechi, has revealed plans by the Federal Government to construct the Port Harcourt – Maiduguri rail line. Amaechi said the President had also approved the building of two new seaports ; one in Bonny , Rivers State and the other in Warri , Delta State. The minister expressed the assurances of President , Major General Muhammadu Buhari ( retd. ) to reconstruct the entire stretch of the rail line with a spur to a railway ...