Home / News From Nigeria / Breaking News / APC Gets 48, PDP, 45 Chairmanship Seats As House Of Reps Speaker Named 96 Committees
Yakubu Dogara

APC Gets 48, PDP, 45 Chairmanship Seats As House Of Reps Speaker Named 96 Committees

After months of politicking and horse trading, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Honourable Yakubu Dogara, on Thursday, announced the names of chairmen of the 96 standing committees which are to carry out the part of the fundamental work of the House.

The sharing of the committees was done by the selection committee chaired by the Speaker, body of principal officers and appointed members each from the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory.

The sharing showed that 48 chairmen and 55 deputy chairmen of the standing committees were alloted to members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has 45 chairmen position, All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) had one and the Social Democratic Party (SDP) had two.

The committee chairmen, as announced by the Speaker included: Abdulmumin Jibrin who will chair the House Committee on Appropriation; Bashir Baballe Ila will chair the House Services Committee; Babangida Ibrahim will head Finance Committee; Zakari Mohammed will chair Basic Education and Services Committee; and Jagaba Adams Jagaba will head Committee on Interior.

Some lawmakers, however, retained the headship of the committees they chaired in the seventh assembly and they are: Mohammed Tahir Monguno, Agricultural Production and Services; Aminu Suleiman, Tertiary Education; Nkiruka Onyejeocha, Aviation; Nnenna Ukeje, Foreign Affairs; Jones Onyereri, Banking and Currency; Shehu Shagari, Judiciary and Nicholas Mutu, NDDC.

Also on the list are Rima Shawulu, Army; FCT Area Council & Ancillary Matters – Zephaniah Jisalo and Gas Resources, Agbedi Frederick.

Others are: Health Institution, Betty Apiafi; National Planning & Economic Development, Jephter Foingha; Petroleum Resources (Upstream), Victor Nwokolo; Petroleum Resources (Downstream), Akinlaja Joseph; Ports, Harbour & Waterways, Patrick Asadu; Power, Daniel Effiong; Public Procurement, Wole Oke; Science & Technology, Beni Lar and Works, Toby Okechukwu.

New members were not left out in charing the committees and those named as chairmen are: Oladele Kayode, Financial Crimes; Samuel Okon Ikon, Inter-parliamentary Relations; Timothy Golu, Legislative Budget and Research, among others

Seven new committees were named and they are Agricultural Colleges and Institutions; Basic Education and Services; Delegated Legislation; FCT Judiciary; Health Institutions; IDPs, Refugees and Initiatives on North East; Insurance and Actuarial Matters; Tertiary Education and Services.


About Lolade


  1. I hope Nigerians get results with these committees…….

  2. Adekunle Opeyemi

    Why share the chairmanship equally with a non-compromising opposition? Poor judgement or what we suspect could be true – APC by face PDPigs by deed?

  3. Afrishopoline - UK

    96 Committees..?? Really..?? And what good are those committees to the Nigerian people…?

Viral Video

Support Ooduarere

Scan QR code below to Donate Bitcoin to Ooduarere
Bitcoin address:

Check Also

covid jabs nigeria

Prominent Nigerians Who Have Taken COVID-19 Jabs

By Samuel Oamen Few days ago, a frontline health worker at the National Hospital, Abuja Dr Cyprian Ngong, became the first Nigerian to receive a dose of the Oxford–AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine in Nigeria. Other prominent Nigerians and politicians have followed suit. Here is a list of them: 1. President Muhammadu Buhari 2. Vice President Yemi Osinbajo 3. COS, Ibrahim Agboola Gambari 4. SA to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina 5. NDLEA boss Gen. Mohammed Buba Marwa (Rtd) ...